34 Comments
author

Also, by the way, if there are any suggestions or improvements you all would like to see for next week's poll, I'm all ears.

I'm including pictures in the poll next week so you can have the kicks fresh in your minds. Anything else?

Expand full comment

After this wraps, drop the whole thing again EXCEPT this time we choose each winner based on how painful the L was

Expand full comment

I had to google a few to be reminded of what they even looked like, so pictures are a great idea.

Expand full comment
Dec 2, 2020Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

Dark mocha and the vapor waffles had tough matchups — SB lows have a chance at some upsets tho 👀

Expand full comment
author

I'm honestly surprised at how well the Dark Mocha is doing right now lol.

Expand full comment
author

Not because it's bad but because I remember people hating so hard on it. They were calling it the fake Travis 1 lololololol

Expand full comment

If anything, the more hate a sneaker has, chances are ppl actually LOVE IT.

Expand full comment
author

Facts. That's why the 7-11 Dunks are going crazy resale wise right now lolololol

Expand full comment

Hot take: Jordan Retros that have released before don't belong in a Sneaker-of-the-year conversation. Sure, they were literally released this year, but they aren't *of* this year. The main reason so many of us love them is specifically because of nostalgia!

New colorway of an old silhouette? Good to go.

I totally understand why you did what you did (it's certainly the more standard approach), but I think to truly be the best of a year, it should bring something new to the table as opposed to being a rerun.

Expand full comment
author

You know what? This take is hot, but it is a totally correct critique of the space and the industry. A retro should not be the most impactful shoe of the year and it's a reflection on the industry at large and our values as consumers, IMO, that there's not enough new IP to change that.

Expand full comment

This goes for non-Jordans, too, but those are obviously the main focus in terms of releasing multiple times.

Expand full comment

I am pained by my L on the Turdunken, so close to a W. Loved the release for that even though I caught an L.

Other Ls this year that stick with me StrangeLoves, Community Garden, Grateful Dead.

Also, Melodi Ehsani is really underrated IMO.

Expand full comment
author

I struggled SO MUCH with the Ehsani OG. I went back and forth on it for hours before bringing it to 21. Had it as high as 13. Felt like it was one of the most fly shoes to drop this year and loved how unique it was. I just felt like the push behind it wasn't as strong as it should've been and docked it a bit for that.

Expand full comment

I know nothing about this industry but that seemed like the obvious 5-12 upset (for context also just picked shoes I like the look of with basically zero thought into the marketing, release or packaging)...but maybe I just hate $2,000 sticker price.

Expand full comment

I was surprised the New Balance Salehe Bembury joints weren’t included in the bracket. Those might be #1 for me in 2020, but I don’t know a single person who got them lol other than that, I thought it was pretty good. Am I the only one though who after voting thought how it was a kinda down year for new sneakers? I was a little underwhelmed after looking it all over.

Expand full comment

Lotta hype drops but not a ton of gems IMO. You are right about the Bemburys. They were super nice.

Expand full comment

You nailed it. So much hype but not any real timeless pieces.

Expand full comment

I just want to know why you didn't include Mike Taddow's Instagram sneaker purchase. https://twitter.com/taddmike/status/1275563913036390400

Expand full comment
author

LMAOOOOOO WOW I FORGOT ABOUT THESE

Expand full comment

I dont know why but I really became enamored with the TurDUNKen's over the last like 2 weeks. Im retroactively salty as fuck that I didnt get them.

Expand full comment
author

Exactly why they made the list LOL. I feel the same way.

Expand full comment

when I saw crawf's unboxing of them I was super jealous

Expand full comment

How did you not include the Black Cat 4's from March in this bracket!? That SNKRS "L" STILL haunts my soul, and as an AJ4 guy I thought for sure those'd make the cut.

Expand full comment
author

I'm honestly just not a fan of triple black shoes lol. I also didn't feel like it left that big of an imprint on this year in sneakers. Maybe that's a misread by me and maybe it's because it was so early on, but I feel like the moment was so short lived.

Expand full comment

They for sure got lost in the post "Last Dance" hype, that's fair. I guess seeing both the fire 4's and 5's and the Nike x Stussy Spideron (which I was super 'eh' on personally) it felt like there was a lower bracket place for 'em. But I feel you if you aren't a fan of the triple black option.

Expand full comment

people did the crocs dirty

Expand full comment
author

LMAO they are really destroying them. That's a tough match up.

Expand full comment

Their loss is literally what's 2020 needs right now. They should have NEVER had a come up.....

Expand full comment
author

LOLOLOL Get Crocs out of here 2021

Expand full comment

Make Crocs Trash Again lol

Expand full comment

The Crocs are AWFUL. They should be included, but get outta here!!

Expand full comment

Dark mocha deserves better, lol! That’s a tough matchup.

Expand full comment

I was a little surprised at some of the rankings, but hey, it's your bracket. Overall, solid selections. Glad you chose JFG 992's over any others. I love the WTAPS, but I never actually had a chance of getting them.

Expand full comment
author

LOL someone told me earlier this week that everything I have in the teens should be in the top 10. I'm rethinking this entire thing now.

Expand full comment