10 Comments
Dec 9, 2020Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

I'm gonna keep it 2 Virgils, I'm still bummed the Space Hippie collection lost. I know most sneakerheads aren't thinking about sustainability when looking at shoes (although, we all should be, with everything we do), but the entire collection looks dope while being a gamechanger for what sneaker companies can do on a massive scale. And it lost to one of the most boring OWs :/

Expand full comment
author

Honestly, I was surprised that it fell the way it did. It's straight up going to change the future of footwear. And the fact that Nike made it as hot as they did this year is really encouraging to me.

Expand full comment
Dec 9, 2020Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

I'm really wondering if the New Beginnings pack didn't do too hot because of how limited it was, as soon as it wasn't on sneakrs or a wider release it rapidly fell into irrelevance on all star weekend IMO

Expand full comment
author

Yeah, I think that's spot on. Honestly, a lot of these would've done a lot better had they not been SO limited. I could understand it with the New Beginnings pack bc it was super niche and for the biggest Jordan fans only, but that's definitely the downside of it.

Expand full comment
Dec 9, 2020Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

I was hoping for the OW hype to die this year but I don't think that's happening anytime soon. Definitely hoping the Strangeloves can upset the Dior 1s. Surprised the Community Greens aren't getting much love as I enjoyed that design better than some others released this year and wasn't really hyped on the Mocha 1s. Not surprised Yeezy QNTM are losing; I think apart from the 700s all the recent silhouettes are hard to process.

Expand full comment
Dec 9, 2020Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

Mike, I saw a tweet the other day that said retros shouldn't be up for consideration for sneaker of the year. What do you think about that?

Expand full comment
author

Someone actually mentioned it in the threat last week and I initially disagreed, but then after thinking about it I feel like that's the correct take.

I feel like that's why I whiffed so hard on the New Beginnings pack. It's not of this time. Neither was the Fire Red Jordan 4, really. Next year when I make this thing I'm definitely keeping that in mind.

Expand full comment

Sheesh! These Mocha 1's are not going to go away, are they? The Strangeloves better beat the Dior's. Pulling for the TurDunkens too. I'm a sucker for great packaging and extras. Sean Cliver & Deon Point are some of the best to ever do it!

Expand full comment

I mean I know they are dope but I don't think anyone expected them to be performing *this* well

Expand full comment
author

They're really blowing everything out of the water and it's pretty wild. I think it has a good shot at winning this thing outright.

Expand full comment