9 Comments
author

Y'all know my thoughts on this already. I think Reebok is prime real estate. There are other brands that had less cultural pull now making major advancements in all of this. Reebok has a legitimate history and a track record they can go into.

I think this is a no brainer, but I also don't know the complete state of the organization. So, there's that.

Expand full comment

100% buy for me. The brand itself has so much history (Iverson, Shaq, Big Hurt, The Pump). Add that with the high-end collaborators (Pyer Moss, Maison Margiela, etc.) and the potential is very high. I would look at what Puma has done with their basketball line as an example of how to rebuild.

Expand full comment
author

That's the thing, too. The high end collabs is the stuff that has me excited about what it could be. Clearly, Reebok still has some cultural cache. It just needs to be tapped into properly.

Expand full comment

I’m a little surprised it hasn’t sold already to be honest. I think it has great potential. Would be interesting to see a new balance style revival

Expand full comment

I’m on my 3rd pair of questions this year. I’m bias. I grew up a Sixers fan. AI was my hero. I’d buy because reebok can succeed. It’s not ever going to be nike or adidas but it’s still possible for it to be a big player in streetwear. Shaq, AI, Kamikazes, Pumps need a smarter push. Reinvent them slightly, and not just in new colorways. Push retros with better sneaker tech (and better fit too) often. Continue the collabs with major streetwear players (UNDFTD x Reebok was so sick). Make sneaker drops clean and easily accessible to contrast the pain of Nike’s SNKRS. Reebok has everything to build their own culture of classics, but it feels like the push has been lazy.

Expand full comment

I'd love to own reebok. Great history + cultural touchstone + existing collabs that give you bonafides for both hypebeasts and sneakerheads. Look at what Puma is doing right now, I only see potential in Reebok.

Expand full comment

I definitely would

Expand full comment

Absolutely! But it's also because there is just too much good history there.

Expand full comment

Completely agree with the NB comparisons. So many incredible black owned brands like Bricks & Wood, Circulate, etc you could reach out to and really build together. I believe I've read that Adidas is overvaluing the brand right now and not wanting to take such a loss, which might be a problem to get someone with the right vision to drive the brand forward.

Expand full comment