19 Comments
author

The thing that kind of pisses me off the most about this is that the Nike ID Dunks from back in the day are legitimately how I fell in love with the silhouette. Customizing pairs of Dunks made me love sneakers the way I do today.

I feel like last week's drop robbed some 12 or 13 year old of that same love. This is the kind of thing that turns people away, all to collect some data. It stinks.

Expand full comment
Jan 13, 2021Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

Did a few designs in advance and was ready to roll. Turned out to be an epic fail! My designs didn't even show up for like 20-25 mins and even then I was unable to cart anything. It's all good though, wasn't meant to be lol. C ya.

Expand full comment
author

LOL I wish I had that same outlook.

Expand full comment
Jan 13, 2021Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

I too was highly disappointed. The ball was dropped by multiple teams and resulted in a lot of finger pointing. I'm happy some folks got pairs and hope that future iterations are an improvement in the process.

Expand full comment
author

I hope so too, man. It's so infuriating.

Expand full comment
Jan 13, 2021Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

It was the typical garbage customer experience from Nike. Nothing new on that front. I made some designs before hand, app died on launch, designs were missing, nothing would load. Just a really terrible and frustrating experience.

Expand full comment
author

SO frustrating man. It's more of the same. I feel duped.

Expand full comment
Jan 13, 2021Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

I didn't try for the custom Dunk but spent some time making colorways for fun prior to the release. I think the Nike By You drop shows that 2021's Dunk releases will be more or less the same (Ls upon Ls) despite the reported increase in stock.

The only Dunk I was able to hit on in 2020 was the Iowa highs and those released during the last month of the year lmao

Expand full comment
author

It's clear that they're turning this into the same thing they've turned the Jordan 1 and the Air Force 1 into. Even with increased stock, hype is gonna have those things flying off virtual shelves.

Expand full comment

Absolutely, and I think with the pandemic pushing everyone towards virtual shopping, Nike's dominant direct-to-consumer model and hype still coming off The Last Dance, seems like we're well past the days of a Bloodline Jordan 1 sitting and going on sale even though that was only a year ago.

I assumed the Volt Gold joints were gonna get a similar treatment to the Bloodlines but Jordan 1s are still Jordan 1s.

Expand full comment

I mean I just feel at a loss like I love sneakers but Nike doesn’t make any of the ones I want available to me. I thought surely their plan was to make money selling lots of these. I would’ve bought a few pair. Ultimately the string of failures I’ve had trying to give Nike my money just makes me less interested in even trying.

Expand full comment

I completely missed it 🤦‍♂️ Not sure if that makes it better or worse lol

Expand full comment
author

Dude. I wish I missed it. I'd feel so much better right now. LOL

Expand full comment

They weren’t available here in the UK (or at least from what I could see) so I didn’t get involved in the fun myself but I did see the major Ls rippling across my timeline throughout the morning of the release. Having a custom dunk would be everyone’s dream, but it’s disappointing for Nike to cock tease everyone like this. Nike really have to improve the way some of their apps and services work because some of them *just don’t*.

Expand full comment
author

I was just talking with a buddy about this the other day. I don't think it's in their best interest to fix some of this stuff — especially since it actually works better for them in this way. This kind of shit builds hype, unfortunately.

Expand full comment

you already know my stance here haha. for the first time ever I designed a pair in the By You or iD programs that I would actually buy, looked forward to it all week, kept the tab open and refreshed 400 times to make sure I hadn't missed the release time, then come Friday morning the site bugged out, deleted my design, wouldn't let me recreate it, and was sold out by the time everything came back to life.

the most likely scenario is the tweet that I saw (which you might have retweeted, tbh) that said "it's a win for Nike because now they have a mountain of designs that they know people will want, and can release them at will." swear to god if I see a CO.JP Dunk Low drop, I want royalties

Expand full comment
author

LMAO If I see that on my TL somewhere I will let you know. It'd be so disappointing to find out that this was all a big data mine for them.

Expand full comment

It sucks that lame rip-off designs folks are now trying to sell on ebay for $$$ are what got through, but it was fun to make some of my own before everything crashed. I would have gladly picked up a pair, but I'm sure they'll restock a few times. The story should be more about accessibility and making more pairs available.

Expand full comment
author

Man. Can you believe that? Here I was, thinking that no one would be reselling customized pairs of shoes because what would anyone stand to gain from that? Yet again, reseller culture proves I'm an idiot. Lmao.

Expand full comment