30 Comments
author

What's wild to me (and I'll probably write about this for Friday) is seeing these things sell out super quickly but seeing mad pairs of Flint 7's just sitting. Lol. I thought it'd be the other way around.

Expand full comment

I like the Flint 7s (and 7s in general), but don’t you find them a little tougher to wear casually? Just my two cents. Now I’m going to flip-flop and say that I’d definitely cop a Bordeaux if they retro those again on nostalgia alone.

Expand full comment
author

LOLOLOL I feel like the Bordeauxs get everyone. And I feel like you can get a good fit off in those! The KO's would certainly be a bit easier. But I figured that just off of name alone the Flints might perform better. Clearly, I was wrong. Haha

Expand full comment
May 12, 2021Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

it's the damn resellers. it's all driven by hype. there are a lot of dope sneakers that fly under the radar because there's no hype behind them. But if virgil or travis scott or jerry "bless" them that'll change real quick.

Expand full comment

Chicago colorways are undefeated. With all the madness going on with diff iterations, OG colors be gone in a blink

Expand full comment
May 12, 2021Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

I was able to get them from SNKRS draw....I'm drawn to them being canvas...I'm thinking that the toebox will be a little less likely to crease than the regular 1s.

Expand full comment
May 12, 2021Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

I have the Shadow ones from a few years back and I like them and the history/mystery of the AJKO. Struck out on all raffles and SNKRS. Not paying resale for these as there are so many more pairs out there.

Expand full comment
May 12, 2021Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

I did not try for these this morning. I wasn't necessarily attracted to them like that so I passed.

Expand full comment
May 12, 2021Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

I passed on these. Just not that nice to me. You see a lot of people on Twitter, "welp, finally got a W!" only proving that they didn't even want the shoe, they just wanted to feel a win in the sneaker game. Resale and the hype of the W of changed the game for sure

Expand full comment
May 12, 2021Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

I passed on these, never been a fan of the AJ1 Ko. It's just hyped up for obvious reasons, not a must have in my opinion.

Expand full comment
May 12, 2021Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

Co-sign…

Expand full comment
May 12, 2021Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

I respect the sneaker but passed on them, just not my vibe.

Expand full comment

RT. Respect but not for my rotation and not even considering for that price tag.

Expand full comment
author

I'd rock them, but I didn't feel good enough about them to catch an L today. Lol

Expand full comment
May 12, 2021Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

Shot my shot on SNKRS this morning, no luck there. Hoping to catch it if it drops elsewhere, i'm a fan. 160 is a bit much for these but anything under 200 and I only think for about 10 minutes.

Expand full comment
May 12, 2021Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

I'm new and had never seen canvas AJs before. Didn't get em but like em

Expand full comment
author

That's fair! I also like them. I just feel like this is one of those silhouettes that probably shouldn't have been hyped in the way that it felt like it was.

Expand full comment

I like them just fine and would probably buy a pair if they were on the shelf, even at 140, but waking up early or paying reseller price? gtfoh

Expand full comment

I went for them, because I've been going for everything in hopes that all the Ls will result in some eventual Ws at some point. But ultimately I think you're right that it only due to hype that they went so fast.

Which leads me to something that is a little off topic, but it pertains to hype and has been bothering me: I've been reading the MariSole comics on Sneakers, and they keep referring to characters taking multiple Ls, doubling up on hard to get pairs, and having "the luck of the draw." I know it's trying to be "relatable to the culture" or whatever, but it kinda pisses me off because it's just further proof that Nike KNOWS that they're screwing with all of us with the false scarcity. Like they're waving the gamification of sneakers in all our faces and saying "we know we're screwing with y'all, and we know y'all know we're playing you, but we also know y'all ain't gonna stop playing our stupid game."

It pisses me off even more that they're probably right...

Expand full comment

I copped. I have the vintage version that dropped back in 2010 and got some good wear out of them back in the day, but i'm a little fearful to step into them nowadays as they're over ten years old. I've always had a fondness for the KO line because I didn't feel the need to be extra precious and careful with them. As others have said, traditionally KOs would go on sale/hit the outlets and you could get them for low. To be honest, I tried just to try and didn't expect the dub today. I wouldn't have been devastated with an L, but I'm glad I got them. I hit on the 11 lows a week ago, so it was kind of a heat check attempt. And they were $140 for me. I agree that anything higher would be pushing it and there's no way I'd cop at the resale numbers i've been seeing today.

Expand full comment
author

Also congrats on copping!

Expand full comment
author

AH yeah I wrote the wrong price smh. The 2015 joints had the $160 price point. But still, I think it's a nice shoe! Don't get me wrong. But it just felt odd seeing people react to it the way they did when these were readily available six years ago for a discount lol

Expand full comment

I’m with that. If it was like the old days, pre SNKRS, I might have balked at $140 as well. But then again, if it were the old days a lot of this stuff wouldn’t have sold out. Overall it’s a cool sneaker that probably should be at a retail price point much closer to $100. But everything is “hyped” these days.

Expand full comment

I went for them thinking maybe there would be less demand than AJ 1's, plus I thought they look sweet and that in person they would be ever better... guess I was way off base

Expand full comment

Passed. If I coulda walked into a store and purchased easily then MAYBE - but we all know that's not possible to do anymore lol.

Expand full comment

Imo ajkos look the best. I got my royal blue pair for literally $70. Just getting dust in 2014 😭 now they 400+ same day. Oh my times have changed

Expand full comment

Honestly I think a lot of people just saw the bred colorway and figured someone out there would buy for resale. Cant blame them tbh

Expand full comment

I have a pair of the Bred colorway that came out a few years back on a super steal ($110 because no box??) and I really mess with the canvas Jordans but I just couldn’t vibe with these. If they made it so where the back was red instead of white they’d look more... complete? Like it really looks like it was halfway through production and they just straight up forgot to color the rest of the shoe.

It’s so wild that I saw people saying “well at least I got a W” which makes it seem like they were just going for it to go for it, like for the dopamine hit.

I did go for them for a friend on SNKRS and caught that L, which I was only bummed about for my friend. Kind of a weird drop. Midweek drops suck for me since I’m trying to work at drop times lol

Expand full comment

I had these in 2014 and sold them years ago. because the red canvas started to turn pink. Ya boy did hit on snkrs for the first time in over a year 😂 and i am happy with them. The price on them doesn’t bother me as much because i wanted them

Expand full comment
author

I think it's less about the price for me and more about the hype that they came with lol. I'm just confused by it, I guess. They're good! But I just don't recall people reacting this way to them when they dropped back in the day.

Expand full comment