11 Comments
Oct 13, 2021Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

I typically keep a running list on my phone throughout the year so that whenever wifey mentions something she wants I jot it down. That way come time to get her a gift(s) I have a decent list to pick from and that way she is usually genuinely surprised because its not like she recently gave me a list and can expect anything in particular.

It feels like the last few years i've had something super unexpected or major pop up right around Christmas time that made it super tight and a struggle to make things happen, so thats why I already mapped out what im getting and am starting to chip away it. Easier to finesse it anyways, as oppose to just one major move. Hard part is just keeping it all hidden for 2-3 months.

Expand full comment
Oct 13, 2021Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

Haven’t yet but all the big box stores got their stuff out already. Selfishly I can’t wait for holiday season because I can finally wear my Kobe’s from last Christmas. A shoe I’ve wanted since I saw him tip-off that year. Heyo Grinches.

Expand full comment

Buy your gifts now! We've all been talking about supply chain, but it is good and truly fucked. Best bet is to shop locally if you can. Mom & Pop's need your support. Plus, no threat of package thieves when you buy it in store.

Expand full comment

Question for y’all relating to holiday shopping. My little cousins are 13 and 10 and have been loving the Js I been rocking around them. They want some so bad. Their shoe size changes like every month it seems though. How do I shop sneakers for growing kids?

Expand full comment

We have lists for our kids that we’re working on chipping away, but we did something last year that was SO cool! We came up with an amount and ten categories (something to do, wear, eat, etc) and had to get each other something from each category without going over the total amount.

It was so cool cause it forces you to think outside the box and to think about the person in a really intimate way. Totally recommend!

Expand full comment

I haven't bought anything yet. The problem with moving 16 hours away from my nearest family members is that I HAVE to order something for them. This might be the year to start making handwritten cards like we're back in elementary school.

Expand full comment

I haven't, but I probably should. All of these supply chain issues going on, plus we got the impact of Brexit over here too. No HGV drivers, possibly no fuel, no gas. Gonna be an interesting winter for sure.

Expand full comment

Last Christmas I gave my wife a trip that we had to cancel this year because of Covid. I have no idea what I’m gonna do this year! Jewelry can’t hurt I guess.

Expand full comment