15 Comments
May 26, 2021Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

Nike should

1- make more pairs of in demand shoes (not saying no exclusives)

2- slow down the DTC plans so that the mom & pop shops that are barely holding on have a chance to come back post panny

3- use good quality materials consistently

Expand full comment
May 26, 2021Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

This is a really interesting question, and one I really don’t know the answer to. Fundamentally, im always going to come at this from a position of mistrust because Nike have to look after their shareholders. Sometimes that means doing what’s best for the consumer, and at other times it doesn’t.

Expand full comment
author

This is sort of where I stand on it. And it's not just with Nike — it's pretty much with every brand for me. But Nike especially so as the industry's leader.

Expand full comment
May 26, 2021Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

The partnership definitely helps. In the end though, they made supply and demand decisions to become this exclusive product company and that’s still always going to be the gripe for me that there’s just not enough product. They’re moving in the right direction though!

Expand full comment
author

Between this, the refurbishing program and the anti-backdoor policy I do like the direction. There needs to be more tho.

Expand full comment
author

In my opinion, anyway. Lol

Expand full comment

I realize this isn't the context of your question regarding the partnership with CBP, but I don't know why Nike thinks partnering with CBP is a good idea. CBP is the same agency it was through the whole Trump era (and before). It's a rogue agency that essentially answers to no one, while carrying out it's own agenda. The partnership is actually offensive enough (to me) to get me to stop supporting Nike with my dollars (which isn't that often thanks to SNKRS being broken but that's a different issue).

Expand full comment
author

That's actually something I hadn't thought of here so I'm really glad you said this. When you dig into CBP they do move a bit sheisty. But I also see this as sort of an overarching effort on the brand to weed out reps, which I don't have a problem with.

Another way to do that would to actually allow people easier access to heat but *shrug*

Expand full comment

Definitely, trying to cut down on reps is a good goal, but is partnering with CBP the best/only choice? You can go on reddit right now and get the information for dozens of rep providers in the US and China. And if you read the press release from CBP, this isn't about protecting the consumer, it's about protecting Nike's Intellectual Property. There's really no benefit to the consumer in this relationship.

Expand full comment

Personally I can’t stand Nike much lately, and for a long time...yes, I’ll say it, I feel that the sneaker game has changed since bots came into play...Nike just wants their cash and really doesn’t care about their true customers. All the kicks I’ve wanted and tried for I haven’t been able to cop...I’m a girl who wears what I buy (I mean have you ever seen anyone wearing the Chunky Dunks out in public???)...sometimes I’ll keep a pair or 2 in the boxes for awhile before wearing them, but for me it has to be the right time...sorry if this has nothing to do with the CBP partnership but the post got my mind needing to vent...none of my friends like kicks as much as I do and just dont understand. Shoot me down if you must, but if you read this through, thank you for listening 🙏🏼

Expand full comment

I Don’t trust Nike at all, at the end of the day they are a business. It’s always gonna be whatever’s good for business. They should slow down on the DTC. I don’t know if it’s me but it seems like they’ve made it even harder to get sneakers smh, Maybe I’m salty because since Nike has made everything a draw on the SNKRS APP I’ve taken 45 straight L’s SMH.

Expand full comment
author

What could they do to change that for you? Is it simply a matter of having better access? Or is there more?

Expand full comment

For me, it’s all papering over the cracks. It will take time for any of this to bring any meaningful change. Until then, I’m highly skeptical.

Expand full comment

This is where I am at. At the end of the day, a company consists of its people. As long as all of the same people are still in charge, I have to assume that this a PR move.

Expand full comment

Edit:

To me it is interesting. But the extend of its effectiveness, I am not sure. Considering counterfeiters are like drug laws, there will always be new routes, new methods and a few busts by the enforcers (CBP).

Expand full comment