26 Comments
Dec 16, 2020Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

The Mocha is a clean colorway that is easy for everyone to rock. Plus, it's riding the Travis wave but unlike Travis these are much easier to come by. The JFG NB were super limited, resales for $1-$2k, and (for some) a questionable color palette. The AJ1 Mocha is a shoe for people and JFG 992 is super limited IYKYK type vibe.

Expand full comment

"The AJ1 Mocha is a shoe for people and JFG 992 is super limited IYKYK type vibe."

Perfectly said. I look at the Mochas the same way I see Jordan launch the countless AJ1 Mids that are homages to the OGs (Chicagos, Banned, Pine Green, etc.). It's a sneaker-for-all (emphasis on "all") approach that I respect.

The only other major (and iconic) brand I can think of that's done this well is Converse.

Expand full comment

100% agree with your POV on Mids.

Expand full comment

One more point on the AJ1 Mid trend: there's a lot of really cool exclusives they've done there, including my personal fav, the Dia De Muertos (which Sykes knows I can't stop talking about) https://news.nike.com/footwear/nike-2020-dia-de-muertos-collection

Expand full comment

Shoe for "the people" SMH. Where's that edit button.

Expand full comment

That's a great point. Does the limited availability/exclusiveness add or take away to a shoe's grail status? I think we're seeing a turn in the community with the democratization of kicks. People like what they like and they want it when they want it. Sadly, the hunt seems to have died down.

Expand full comment

I think it's a fine balance of availability/exclusiveness and that balance is different for every shoe. Some SB Dunks that release with a lot hype die off so quickly because no can get them.

Expand full comment
Dec 16, 2020Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

That's the big debate about the Chunky Dunky this year, right? SOTY? Because there was crazy hype? Because it was two big brands collaborating? Because celebrities were the only ones wearing them? I'll take the Strangeloves or Turdunkens over CD any day.

Expand full comment
Dec 16, 2020Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

I think so many people are tying the Dark Mochas to the Travis Scott’s (which they shouldn’t) and the JFG drop was hella limited so not a lot of people have even seen them in person. However with all that being said, There is no way the Dark Mochas are better than the JFG let alone should even be in the elite 8 ( coming from someone who has Travis so I might be bias lol)

Expand full comment
Dec 16, 2020Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

I mean, even if it's riding on the coattails of the Trav AJ1, I do think it's a genuinely good looking shoe which I like significantly more than the New Balances (If they were the Blue Crabs, MAYBE I'd pick the NBs) But I think a lot more people would choose the AJ1 over the NB's if only because it's Jordan, is there's that as well. Hope you ain't too cold wherever you are, cuz this snow is heavy bruh

Expand full comment
Dec 17, 2020Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

I'm not enough of a sneakerhead to be invested in rarity or specific brands/lines... I just think the Dark Mocha looks real good! It's very clean lines, the black/brown/sable(?) combo looks great, and its somewhat simple; a lot of sneakers get real busy, visually, and sometimes that works but sometimes it just looks a mess. The Dark Mochas look very intentional, crisp, and nice.

Expand full comment
author

This is totally understandable! It is a good looking shoe and it's very versatile. Not hard to wear at all. But that's also why this is a bit of a surprise to me. There's not that much flare that comes with it. There's nothing really special about it. It's really just a riff off of last year's Travis Scott 1. I thought that would turn people away from it. Clearly, it has not lol.

Expand full comment
Dec 16, 2020Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

The mocha has a fairly neutral colorway and is easy to pair with things or wear with black if that's all your closet consists of – like me lol. JFG did his thing with the 992's but there wasn't that much hype around it so a lot of people might not know about it as much as the 1's. Both are dope tho

Expand full comment
Dec 16, 2020Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

Just because I could get my hands on something, doesn't mean it's Shoe of the Year. It used to be about the hunt. The desire to get something made you really really want it. I know there's been a lot of talk about gatekeeping lately, so I don't mean you should intentionally keep product out of people's hands. That's actually what I love so much about the Joe Freshgoods brand. JFG specifically wants to spotlight Chicago. He wants to give back to his community, including the broader midwest, which often doesn't get much love. If you listen to his episode of Complex Sneaker Podcasts, he also pulled off a miracle by turning this release around for All Star Weekend in a matter of months! This is damn near impossible in sneakers. Finally, this release set off the 992 craze for the rest of the year, paving the way for WTAPS, JJJJound, and Packer. What exactly has the Mocha 1 done for sneakers this year?

Expand full comment

I might be wrong, but I feel like the dark mocha’s are riding on the coattails of the Travis Scott Jordan 1s

Expand full comment

Not wrong

Expand full comment

So true !!

Expand full comment

For me, I actually like the Mochas better than the Travis 1s, and I think the 992s (any version, not just JFG) are pretty ugly, tbh.

Expand full comment

The JFG's were only in Chicago during All-Star Weekend and were very limited with little to no promo (since it was an in-person release). Mocha's rode the Travis wave and any 1 is automatically popular.

Expand full comment

I think it’s because the JFG drop was limited and in February. Unless you’re one of the few that has a pair, it’s out of sight, out of mind.

Expand full comment

I forgot about them

Expand full comment

Mocha's are super overrated, imo.

Expand full comment

I just don't fux with NB like that. :shrug:

Expand full comment
author

😂😂😂 this is too real

Expand full comment

Not everyone is from Philly/DC/Baltimore to really ride the New Balance wave.

Expand full comment
author

Damn. Am I too local? Lol

Expand full comment