17 Comments
Dec 1, 2021Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

I honestly don’t think there’s been a more influential person in sneakers over the past decade or so than Virgil. In an era where most releases are just reissues or new colorways of classic models, the work he did to actually reinvent sneakers was inspiring and set the stage for so many other designers to follow in his footsteps.

He was also, by all accounts, a genuinely kind and thoughtful person who always had time for fans and people inspired by his work. Truly a huge loss - hope his family finds peace in the inspiration he provided others.

Expand full comment
Dec 1, 2021Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

What struck me throughout all remarks and tributes was his generosity - of time, advice, knowledge and spirit. The absolute dignity and stoicism he displayed whilst going through such an illness is hard for me to fathom.

Expand full comment
author

Man. It's really unbelievable.

Expand full comment
Dec 1, 2021Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

He just seemed like such an incredible talent. I wish he'd gotten more time to develop his style; his architecture background obviously impacted a lot of what he did. That we had a creative mind like his designing everything from shoes to concerts feels like a privilege for all of us. I'm so glad he was able to do all the things he did, just wish it could have been for longer. <3

Expand full comment
author

Love that point about his background in architecture. Not gonna lie -- I often overlook it when considering his work but I feel like it's because he always included it so finely and accurately. His work was such a joy.

Expand full comment
author

Excuse me -- IS. And will forever be a joy.

Expand full comment

Tinker had a background / foundation in architecture too. Definitely something in that.

Expand full comment
Dec 1, 2021Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

I remember when Heath passed, Chris Nolan said that a hole had been ripped in the future of cinema. Similarly, I think with Virgil’s passing, a hole has been ripped in the future of fashion, of culture. And I’m so sorry for his family and friends. So sad.

Expand full comment
author

This is the thing that's really killing me. I just keep wondering if he had more time what he would've done with it as a leader in this space where he'd already done so much.

Expand full comment
Dec 1, 2021Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

He really changed the game forever. My friend saw him DJing at a local festival just two months ago. His cultural impact has been and will remain massive. Can’t quite believe he’s gone.

Expand full comment
author

That's insane man. For him to be able to DJ while going through all this? That's special.

Expand full comment
Dec 1, 2021Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

He’s one the only people where in his passing i read through everything everyone had to say since he seemed to truly give everyone a piece of him that’s special. Dude just really loved all the cool shit and people who have those common interests which is our community. Regardless of how we feel about his work he connected so many worlds and took them with him to the highest level of fashion and that’s some legendary shit. Also had to cop my off white vapor streets in case it gets goofy out here. R.I.P Virgil 🙏🏾🕊 Job well done

Expand full comment
author

Very well said my dude

Expand full comment
Dec 1, 2021Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

don't think there's any question that he's the most influential polymath of this generation. it's so incredible that he had his hands in so many different things and still had the pulse of all of them. there might eventually be another who approaches what Virgil was able to do, but we lost ours.

since this is a sneakers-focused space, gonna put this out there: I only ever hit on one Off-White x Nike release, the Dunks earlier this year. I thought they were pretty goofy and didn't think I'd ever wear them, which would still be the case. now, though, I'm feeling pretty sad about letting them go. "they're just shoes" but they're also a piece of art and his legacy. I'm probably never going to get my hands on another OW release, if there ever is one, and I'm definitely not letting a reseller make money off of me on his name. thankful I got to check out a pair in person, and thankful I saw him DJ only about 6 weeks ago (crazy in itself, given how sick he was).

Expand full comment
author

WOW. That is pretty incredible. I'm glad you got to experience that session, bud.

I feel similarly about the OW Dunks I hit on from 2019. Let them go and didn't really think twice about it or what they actually represented. I'd regretted it before but, of course, I do doubly now considering the circumstances.

Expand full comment

I was lucky enough to see his exhibit at MCA the first weekend it was open while in Chicago for work. It was absolutely teeming with all these folks of all different ages and backgrounds. It was such a tremendous exhibit and I felt like it was the perfect way to just show how diverse his interests and passions were. I convinced my colleague to come with me who didn't know much about Virgil but was trying to make it as a graphic designer. He bought the huge catalog with everything Virgil had ever made. He texted me the day we heard that it's now one of his most treasured things and he looks in it whenever he gets in a rut.

I've looked back on the photos of that day at least a dozen times and I keep coming back to the flag that waved out front. It read "question everything."

Expand full comment

Virgil was rare in that he pushed boundaries and conventions but was rewarded for that. Not many artists, let alone artist of color, are rewarded for challenging the status quo. RIP.

Expand full comment