6 Comments
Jun 16, 2021Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

Plain and simple rent seeking. It won’t be possible to market a sneaker without kicking something upstairs to Nike.

Expand full comment

love to have an army of lawyers tell me whether or not my art is allowed to see the light of day

Expand full comment

There’s a line between an homage or tribute (or a remix!) and a bootleg and I think Nike does not give a flying fuck about sneaker culture so ultimately this is gonna be bad.

Expand full comment
author

This is ultimately a concern of mine as well. I hate bootlegs, but I also feel like this further tightens Nike's grip on the market and reduces the incentive to just simply make more shoes so people don't have to buy bootlegs.

Expand full comment

I hate bootlegs as well and I think this will help sneaker culture.

Expand full comment

It just feels like the self defeating DMCA claims we see online all the time. I’m sure Nike has numbers claiming how much this “costs” them but realistically I don’t think it costs them anything at all. The people who can afford it and are so inclined buy the legit products, some people can’t and buy bootleg. All I see is if this does reduce the bootleg supply, it just meaning less people wearing shoes with the tick on them. The artistic considerations here are concerning too. Just feels like Nike asserting further dominance.

Expand full comment