32 Comments
author

I'll kick us off. My opinion is pretty simple: LET PEOPLE WEAR WHAT THEY WANT. I think it starts and ends there.

Expand full comment
Feb 3, 2021Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

I'm not into the gatekeeping of other people's styles. If there's a low version of an AJ1 that I can't otherwise get, then I'd rather have he low and I'll figure out how I want to wear it. Basically, to me, if you're one of these gatekeepers, you're also one of the people that props up resale so you're your own worst enemy.

Expand full comment
author

Exactly this. It's so funny to see people complaining about AJ1's in their different forms and then being upset that, like, the shattered backboards are a billion dollars on StockX lol.

Expand full comment

literally the only correct argument here, case closed

Expand full comment

Can we literally drop the mic. You summed it up perfectly. You like what you like. You rock what you like. Folks act like there is some darn rule to how you should kick it in your kicks. I call BS.

Expand full comment
Feb 3, 2021Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

People should absolutely wear what they think looks good and what they like to wear. I think it’s unfair to judge someone for wearing a Jordan 1 that’s not a high.

It all comes down to accessibility. The price differences are huge and some people want to just ball on a budget. I can’t blame them.

Expand full comment
author

ACCESSIBILITY. Bottom line.

Expand full comment
Feb 3, 2021Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

I think the Jordan 1 should go away in all forms for a year or so. Make us miss it.

And 100% agree, people should wear what they want and the people trying to put down others should consider asking themselves why they feel the need to be that way. I think people just need hugs. 🤗

Expand full comment
author

MAN. The oversaturation is crazy. Especially considering that not even a decade ago no one was interested in these joints.

Expand full comment

Maybe it's just me but high tops aren't as comfortable to me. I prefer lows and mids because they're easier to get on and feel less bulky on foot.

Expand full comment
author

I will say I do enjoy high AJ1's better but I also don't wear a bunch of Jordan 1's so this isn't even something I have THAT strong of an opinion on.

Expand full comment

I'll preface this by saying I'm relatively new to this. I've always enjoyed shoes and admired my friends who had a bunch of cool pairs but it's just not something I've ever spent money on for myself.

I've bought five pairs of shoes since Thanksgiving (not sure if that's actually a lot but it feels like it is) and super into sneaker culture. I'm probably a bit more into finding things I think look cool and are also affordable than trying to hawk something off SNKRS at the drop or the secondary market for hundreds of dollars. I'm sure I'll get there eventually.

But anyway, my most recent purchase was an all red pair of AJ1 lows and I think they're fire. So yeah, put me on Team Let People Wear What They Want.

Expand full comment

AJ1s are *the* defining sneaker for so many people, and the reason so many of us are even into sneakers. The traditional OG high model releases have become so hard for average consumers to get their hands on that I can't begrudge anyone for going for the mids/lows/zoom/comfort alternatives that are on the market and easier to cop. I'm personally a huge fan of all the SB lows that they've done and I save up my money to get those. There's still a thrill that comes from getting an AJ1 that I think is unique to any other shoe, like you're holding a little piece of sneaker history every time you get them -- so whether you get that from a high, a mid, or a low shouldn't matter.

Expand full comment

I just want there to be more highs. Not concerned at all with what anyone else wants to wear/buy, but I wear mostly white high-tops (Sk8 His, Chucks, Nizzas, that sort of thing) and would love to add a few AJ1s to the mix. It's just hard because they don't sell very many!

Expand full comment

Am I the only one that thinks the zips that go from High to Low are kinda fire? Yes, I am? Ok, cool cool.

Expand full comment
author

LOL nah I actually vibe with those I'm not gonna lie.

Expand full comment

Nah you are not the only one who likes them. That "Purple Pulse" colorway was fire to me!

Expand full comment

It wouldn't work on a lot of silhouettes, so I think it's really neat to see in places where it will. Adds an extra element of making them personal to you, which is great.

Expand full comment

Amen Mike, you said it all. Where what you want and be you.

Expand full comment

I'm personally not a fan of mid's or low's, overall I think right now AJ 1's are oversaturated right now. I like the high version the most. that's just my preference but I don't knock anyone else who likes the other options. Everything isn't for everybody, Wear what you like !!

Expand full comment
author

Whew that oversaturation is a different conversation that definitely needs to be had on this silhouette. Too much.

Expand full comment

Nobody who gets up in arms about highs lows or in betweens was buying their own shoes in 1985. Their sense of “authenticity” has been sold to them by corporations and resellers looking to maximize their profits. Do these folks really like 1s, or were they liked for them.

Expand full comment
author

It's all about clout man. It's so wild.

Expand full comment

i think all look great! Personally I can’t do mids, have flirted with lows. The PSG x Jordan 1 Zoom Comfort are really making me want to see what’s good with them. Weirdly feels wrong for me to buy them idk why

Expand full comment
author

JUST SAW THOSE PICS AND WOW. If you want to cop them, do it bud!

Expand full comment

I bought the all black suede 1 zoom comforts and they're so comfortable. Excellent pair of beaters to walk around in.

Expand full comment

I couldn't really care, especially when so many of the Jordan 1 Lows and Mids actually look quite good. I don't own any personally but there are definitely ones I would wear. I'd actually like it if they brought some of that creativity to the high line up, which can sometimes seem a tad formulaic.

Expand full comment
author

They're always trying to preserve that nostalgic feel with the highs. They need to spice that shit up lol.

Expand full comment

In lockstep agreement with the group sentiment that people should be able to wear what they want, but I wanted to add a little nuance to the thread. I've owned my fair share of Jordan 1s over the years (Highs Lows, KOs, even had a few Mids), but to be honest, I didn't have the courage to wear the Mids back then (Sold all of the Mids on eBay a while back). Nowadays I wouldn't care. I'm married, have kids and I wear what I want. But rewind to 7 or 8 years ago, I was younger, less confident, and didn't want to be clowned. I'm disappointed in myself for being like that. But the gatekeeper culture in sneakers is real. I have a buddy who is close to 40 and just now getting into sneakers. Literally of his friends who are "sneakerheads" tell him to avoid mids at all costs. Hopefully the sales of the Jordan 1 alternatives are an indication that the culture is trending in the right direction and people aren't being as snobby or judgmental about mids, or maybe is it because people can't get a W on the SNKRS app and are just settling? I dunno.

Expand full comment

In my opinion, nobody who is not a major sneakerhead can tell the difference between a mid and a high. I have both, and I like the highs a little better, but I'm not gonna refuse to wear mids because somebody somewhere said they weren't as cool. I love the riskier color combos and overall more fun vibe the mids bring, but the highs do feel ever-so-slightly better on foot, imo.

Expand full comment

I don't think that anyone should care that people are coping mid's. For certain people the OG high 1's are it and everything else is whack. But if you didn't come up in the time of the OG 1's, then you could have a different perspective. I personally haven't had a pair of 1's, YET... so for me I want to get some OG's before I dip into other styles. But the great thing about the sneaker game is that beauty is in the eye of the beholder. Rocks your kicks how you want.

Different strokes for different folks

Peace and love y'all!

Expand full comment

Options are good! Give the people choices and they'll vote with their dollars.

Expand full comment