21 Comments
Oct 28, 2020Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

I mean if crocs can do it literally anything is possible

Expand full comment
author

LMAO totally fair

Expand full comment
Oct 28, 2020Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

absolutely, for many of the reasons you highlighted in Mondays newsletter. The Kerby Jean-Raymond/Pyer Moss relationship is huge and there's a rich history that exists. There definitely needs to be a rebrand and someone with the right vision to bring them back, but it's definitely worth a shot. It doesn't take that much to make a brand cool again.

Expand full comment
author

If New Balance can do it...lmao

Expand full comment
Oct 28, 2020Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

I'm hype AF for a Reebok resurgence with Kirby at the creative helm. Give that man some room to run with it and I really think they could have a comeback year in 2021. I think adidas might just be kicking themselves when they do sell and see what he does with it.

Expand full comment
author

Kerby is going to be SO big there. I'm honestly surprised Adidas is even thinking about letting Reebok go. It's a blank slate! An expensive one (lol) but still.

Expand full comment
Oct 28, 2020Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

OMG I spelled his name wrong. WTF. KERBYYYYYYYYYYYY. These are things I know and I'm failing. Please forgive me everyone on this thread.

Expand full comment

one thousand percent worth it. I hope VF Corp rescues it with the mission of letting Reebok focus on its classics and hoops legacy. I could care less for all the CrossFit shit or generic training shoes, but let it survive as a legacy brand. there’s so much history in their archives and nostalgia is a powerful driver. lean into it 1,000 percent.

Expand full comment
author

I do love this idea, though. I think that's the perfect way to bring this thing back. Lean in to that history! Retro fitting is still in. You can also have Kerby spread his Pyer Moss x Reebok stuff a bit and make that more accessible for people. I think it could work.

Expand full comment

or we could all chip in $100 and buy it as a KYW conglomerate.

Expand full comment
author

THE BOKS YOU WEAR

Expand full comment

Yeah, I don't think CrossFit is the move at all - however, they do make well-reviewed gear so there's a market for that - but UnderArmour went all-in on performance and steered away from athleisure which is where the market was heading and it was an epic failure. I'd personally rather see them head towards athleisure/streetwear/designer collaborations. I'm all for it. I used to rock Reebok Top Downs because I just loved how different they were from other sneakers that I had and frankly no one else was wearing them. It would be cool if Reebok was maybe the brand that was just a smidge edgier (or different) than the rest.

Expand full comment
Oct 28, 2020Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

I absolutely think that Reebok could resurrect their brand to connect with today's youth. First find a young face to front the brand. Second take a silhouette that has proven to be successful and build from there. Remember how Pharrell remixed the superstar for adidas with a rainbow of colors. I've always been a fan of the Club C revenge silhouette. I would also continue the collaborations. From Eric Emanuel, JJJound, to Maison Margiela they have a good foundation to build upon. Now get a second face to make the cool kids think it's cool.

Expand full comment
author

I think Kerby Jean-Raymond could be that next face. They've also got a handful of celebrities already on tap — I think Cardi B has another drop coming soon. They should double down on that and bet big on her.

Expand full comment

Cardi could really move the needle for them. QC is really good at cross promoting their artist, this could be a win-win for everyone.

Expand full comment
Oct 28, 2020Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

Without a doubt worth it. I think we’ve seen that given the correct creative direction (which they’ll have under Kirby) and the correct collaborations (like JJJound) any sneaker brand can get hot in this era.

Expand full comment
author

The formula is literally right there. They just have to tap in to it. I hope they do because I'd hate to see the brand go under.

Expand full comment
Oct 28, 2020Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

Reebok has such a deep history to draw from. I agree with Crawf and would love to hoop in some reimagined Kamikazes or Shaqinosis could you imagine if the updated the tech on those?

Expand full comment
author

They're supposedly retro'ing both of those joints right now too!

Expand full comment

There’s really no reason for adidas to let this brand go. There is a lot of fat to trim overall, but I think they were on to something with the Harden 1/Question crossover, even if it didn’t hit big. Let their stable of adidas signees with some cachet just go wild with old Reebok lifestyle silhouettes. The runs can be small. When/if even 1 hits, it raises the ceiling for both brands and that signature star.

Expand full comment

See, I worry that Kerby is going to be too high end. I love what he is doing for the brand, but also think they need voices like Frank Cooke in there to reignite the streets. The packaging and storytelling on the Nice Kicks Bubba Chucks was insane. More of that, please! Also, the Kobe Question PE is going to light up the feeds before the end of the year (I think Cooke worked on that one too).

Expand full comment