12 Comments
author

For me, this is definitely sustainable for Crocs. They've tapped in to something that I think most brands struggle to do in the same ways. They've organically built a consumer base in a younger generation that seems to be all about comfort and flipped that into something bigger. They hyped collaborations are a piece of that, but they seem to have a real grasp on what they do at the grassroots level — from social content to customer service. All of it.

I thought this was SO perfectly illustrated last week with their tweet addressing the botting situation with the Bad Bunny joints. They said something along the lines of "we hate botting too" and actually broke down that wall companies generally keep between themselves and their consumers. That wins people over. And I think that's the spirit that keeps this thing going for them.

Expand full comment

"They said something along the lines of "we hate botting too" and actually broke down that wall"

god I wish we could say that on social lmao

Expand full comment
author

lmao it's such an underrated thing! People are understanding. They get that this happens. It would help so much to just simply address it.

Expand full comment
Oct 7, 2020Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

I definitely think this is sustainable for them as a brand, because while they're a flex for some people, they're also daily wear! Like, yes they've attached famous people to the brand, but first and foremost, it's a shoe that you can wear pretty much ANYWHERE excepts formal functions. Something to walk in around the house? Boom. Going to the groceries? Boom. Pulling up to homie's house? Boom. There's almost no situation I can't think of where someone can't wear them. As long as they're popular and necessary among the younger generations, which they definitely are from what I've seen, they'll be able to keep this up. Don't think I like them though! It's socks and slides all the way for me, cuz crocs is ugly. To each they own tho.

Expand full comment
author

Love this point. This is the part so many miss with collaborations. Like, sure. You can get whatever star you want to wear this. But if the product ain't good? No one wants it lol

Expand full comment
Oct 7, 2020Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

I think it is sustainable. Crocs used to be huge, especially among people of my age, many used to wear em growing up. If you look at their collabs I think they largely fit that demographic too? I think there's a lot of good will there and they're tapping into it. Personally I would never wear them cause they're ugly AF, but whatever floats your boat.

Expand full comment
author

LOL I'm glad to see I'm not the only one in this boat. I thought I was finally old and out of touch.

Expand full comment

I begrudgingly think they will, because even though I have no intentions of ever purchasing a pair (if they want to send me a pair, I'll try 'em I guess), this stuck out to me from a forthcoming piece I'm writing about the company:

"We work with partners who are genuine fans of Crocs and our partnerships are often born out of a mutual admiration."

There's no question that Crocs are huge and I'm sure there are thousands of genuine tastemakers out there in the sneaker and fashion and music industries who love Crocs, so it's a sure bet that they'll keep working with the influencers who actively wear and use and enjoy the product.

Expand full comment
author

I swear I'm never trying on a pair, but if the right ones come along I'll try on anything haha. Their base runs deep, man.

Expand full comment
Oct 8, 2020Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

I definitely think the model that Crocs has adopted is sustainable. They have found a way to work themselves into the everyday lexicon of sneaker culture. Find a lane, work it and expand. This reminds me of how Sketchers did in the 90's. We used to laugh at them (still do if we're honest) and now they have Joe Montana commercials and stores in most major malls. I personally don't care for them but you gotta respect their hustle.

Expand full comment
author

I do love that Skechers comp! You can see the overlaps in the strategy here. I think it may work a bit better for Crocs, too, because they have an original product and design that they're not stealing from someone. And it works so well.

Expand full comment

it was always a good product. comfy af. now they added the cosigns so it's not going anywhere anytime soon

Expand full comment