29 Comments
Aug 18, 2021Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

I never trusted SNKRS and was striking out for years. I even thought that if I bought loads of non hyped stuff it would help. It didn’t. But in the last month I’ve been watching LIVES, voting in polls, liking posts - basically opening it and interacting every day. I’ve copped the Sacai Lows, Travis Lows and Off-White Dunks. 🤷‍♂️

Expand full comment
author

You've really been cleaning up lately lol. The content has to have something to do with it. But at the same time, you see people who create new accts getting that same access. So I can totally understand someone being upset about it.

The thing that I think frustrates people and fosters distrust the most is that there's no rhyme or reason to any of it. I there was direction, I think people would be OK.

Expand full comment
Aug 18, 2021Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

For context, I'm a relatively new SNKRS user that doesn't go for every single shoe (not even every single valuable shoe; for instance, I didn't have any interest in the Off White Dunks).

I came in with a very low level of trust based on SNKRS's reputation, and I'd say in general I still don't feel particularly hopeful on any given drop. That said, I think changing the app itself or the process itself is infinitely less important than actually *making and selling more sneakers* (and being transparent and truthful about making and selling more sneakers). Without that, any changes they make to how much engagement matters or anything like that is just window dressing. I'm not grading Nike based how many times *I personally* hit on drops, because in any system like this there are always winners and losers and doing The Right Things just gives you a better chance, not a guarantee. I just want there to be more winners, in a grand sense.

Now, do I trust Nike to ever do that? No, because they've decided that a scarcity model is best for business. And that stinks. But that's a form of distrust that would exist with or without SNKRS, and if they did increase quantities (and quantity transparency) without changing a single other thing about SNKRS I'd be cool with that.

Expand full comment
author

That's a very valid point. I think it all does come down to the numbers, but I think they'd also argue that when they drop more of X sneaker, people seem to be less interested in it because it's no longer exclusive (which also sucks).

One thing I often think about with this is what if the app was more transparent? For example, what if they gave us a peek in on size and stock information? That way you won't have people completely wasting their time or coming in with high expectations. You shouldn't anyway, but that at least gives folks a clear picture.

Expand full comment
Aug 18, 2021Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

I've taken too many Ls on the SNKRS app to trust it. I've scheduled my days around drops and still take L after L after L. I don't trust the app, and I'd need to hear some transparent and proactive communication from Nike about steps it's taking to make the app more equitable and less subject to shenanigans before I try to buy another pair on there.

Expand full comment
Aug 18, 2021Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

this is first time im honestly done with it. I sat there and watched so much of the awful content they put out. I told my friend who asked me about how to get into nike dunks to download the app. She hit on exclusive access within having the app for a week and never checking it. I honestly think Nike lost alot of people this past two weeks

Expand full comment
author

I've heard and read a lot of stories like this over the last week. It's pretty wild how random this stuff has been.

Expand full comment
Aug 18, 2021Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

Trusting SNKRS? Lmao.

But for real, their formula is so good. I gave up on huge drops on the app, then they just handed me the EA for the Off-White Dunks. They know exactly what to do to reel people back in.

I genuinely don’t know how SNKRS can gain people’s trust just based on people’s nature. People want instant gratification and SNKRS embodies the boom-or-bust mentality of today’s society.

Expand full comment
author

LOL they definitely got you with that dub today. I wonder if they would ever consider shifting to making SNKRS a content vehicle primarily instead of a marketplace? Like I don't think you need to lose the marketplace, per say. But I think they need to give people a different reason to come to the app. It does nothing but cause pain rn.

Expand full comment
Aug 18, 2021Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

I like that idea. SNKRHUD beat SNKRS to the punch with the social media and content aspect.

I think it’s too far gone for SNKRS to really flip the script now. You either magnify the marketplace and emphasize accessibility, or drop it altogether and go back to brick and mortar sales.

Expand full comment
author

Oh they're going back to brick and mortar, alright lol. 2022 is going to be a huge year for B&M. Lots of things coming down the pipeline.

But I'm not sure it's too late to reverse course. I think we're already starting to see it happen gradually? Whether it works or not, I'm unsure. But I do like the addition of content on the app.

Expand full comment

It’s not too late to change the app, but it may be late to change the minds of the people using that app. I’m trying to be hopeful.

Expand full comment
Aug 18, 2021Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

1. Trust? Hell no lol

2. After? Somewhat worse, yes, and I actually got exclusive access to the Off-White Dunks! How many others have though? I also have no confidence I'll be getting exclusive access again anytime soon.

3. What they can do is get the app, and specifically stock numbers, back to where they were in 2017-19ish? or so. I didn't cop everything I wanted back then, but I was able to cop SOME stuff (Jordan retros, the occasional semi-hyped Brons or Kyries, some Air Maxes or other "shoe of the moment") at retail without issue. I don't need to own everything, but for the past year or so, it feels impossible to cop anything even moderately interesting without it being an act of god (unless younuse bots ornhave connections). If I can just cop some stuff on the regular, that it's simply a matter of wanting it to get it, then I'll start trusting them again.

Expand full comment
Aug 18, 2021Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

Honestly, why should anyone have to watch videos and dig through content if they're paying suggested retail price? Make more pairs and do a straight lottery system. If they want to do a few special draws that require watching video, fine, but this is all getting really stupid.

Expand full comment
author

Lol no one trusts SNKRS. Not a single one of you.

Expand full comment

1. I trust I ain't finna get shit.

2. The fact that I've been a Nike member for YEARS and used the same account for everything Nike related, so I hooked it up when SNKRs became available thinking that's gotta give me some kind of... something... and I've yet to hit on anything (all L's for eternity)... of course there's no trust. I damn sure haven't gotten exclusive access even though I played their game for once and engaged with all their dumb content. It was like OK. I'll try it this time and see if makes a difference. NOPE It's just exhausting trying to get sneakers, especially when there are so many people that are getting sneakers that just want to resell em or don't even really like them like that (the influencer era :eyeroll: )

3. I actually lost more trust when they said it had to do with engaging with the app. Don't use me for likes/views on your BS content. It's like they were putting out another system to be "gamed" in a sense. Flat out, they need to put out more shoes to weed out the resellers so there's less of a market for them and it's less of a deal for the "influencers" to have the shoes that they're handed. I've never had this much trouble getting even low-key kicks. I never even chased the hype shit, I've always just went after what I liked and even that's unobtainable. nowadays. The only time I've gotten anything has been through raffles in other countries. I can't even win stateside. haha I do like Adidas access guaranteed golden ticket idea that they're randomly giving out for members week. Maybe there's a way to start giving out guarantees to people that have tried over and fucking over again and not gotten shit. Eventually people stop trying when it just doesn't work for them so they have to figure out how to keep people who have consistently lost and lost and lost from being the norm.

Expand full comment

Yup. They said forget all that lets make everything more difficult. Screw the long time loyal customers.

Expand full comment

We need our own like botting/backdooring for good group, it's just all of us that love sneakers FOR REAL getting access to sneakers and making sure we only pay retail. haha. I kid, I kid, but it's too serious a thought sometimes.

Expand full comment

😀I’m not against it if it’s not for profit. It can be done in a classy way

Expand full comment

OK here we go.... Before they started making these changes I was 35-40% successful give or take at copping popular GRs off SNKRS. Now its FULL OF CRAP. Yeah if you got chosen to get the OW collection you may feel a little different now but just wait and see if you have that same energy after. You got LUCKY. Yeah that's the name of the game. Yes I understand but now, it seems you have to cut your hand with a sacred knife and spill your blood into a bewitched goblet mixed with other horde members blood and drink from the cup while you recite incantations in a dead language just to hit every now and then. Exaggeration? May be.

This trend has also trickled down to the big retailers like Footlocker. You got to have a ridiculous amount of points already to be considered in a raffle. I don't trust them anymore because they disregard the other die hard Nike fans that don't have time for the app\online bull but have the money to spend on multiple shoes when they drop. That's me. I am a essential worker that don't have time for that. I have over 200 pairs of kicks when buying shoes was a normal occurrence and not a special event on every release.

Ok to sum this rant (sorry) up. To regain my trust they must

1. Put some of that 5,727million dollars of net income into stopping bots.

2. Stop making every other shoe limited or exclusive.

3. STOP making us jump through hoops just to cop!

That's just for starters.

I'm sorry, I'm sorry but I had to get that off my chest 🤦🏿‍♂️

Expand full comment

Remember when SNKRS would just drop easter eggs into the product images going live? You had to scratch off part of the sneaker or a QR code would appear if you held it up to a camera. I was pissed at first bc it was all iOS only. Right after it went live to Android, they seemingly phased it out. But, at least it was fun.

Expand full comment
author

OH MAN that's a throwback. Honestly, I feel like that's the sort of direction they're going in with this content. But I don't think this was the way to draw people in with that.

They do need to do something to make this app fun again. I'm unsure if releasing SNKRS should be its main function. It does nothing but piss people off.

Expand full comment

Trust, yes - I trust Nike to be consistent and do whats in THEIR best interest, NOT whats in the best interest of US loyal customers.

And today their interests are in driving engagement with their content. I have not seen any of the content but what is really concerning is the purpose of the content should be to INSPIRE and inform. But from everything I have heard, it's not.

It would be great if they turned this into an opportunity to inform us on how they are distributing kicks and why they are taking that approach. What communities / regions are setting the trends that inspire some of their designs and how they are planning to reward & reciprocate to those in the sneaker community.

Where we are now is in a very different place. One where a lot is being asked of us, but we arent seeing much in return and that is a really bad feeling. Usually loyal customers are rewarded for being loyal and efforts are made to keep us feeling appreciated. Question I ask is, are we viewed as customers or as something entirely different? And what is driving the product, the experience that the customer has and enjoyment of the product or just the hype?

Feels like we have turned a corner to a completely different direction where the product is no longer the kicks but whatever vehicle is being used to drive the hype train.

Expand full comment

I feel like going into every drop... I have no shot at hitting on SNKRS. I have NEVER hit on a Draw and NEVER have received Exclusive Access. I think if the SNKRS app did presales for their most hyped shoes and give everyone a chance to actually get them and still have their weekly FCFS drops (like SIA or Telfar)..... the sneaker world would change drastically for the BETTER.

Expand full comment

SNKRS will always be unreliable IMO. I didn’t trust them before this drop and won’t after either lol. I think it’s absurd that you have to have so many things in line just to have CHANCE! To buy smh

Expand full comment

Not since they sent me a “Got’em” notice for Chunky Dunks and followed it up with a “sorry we didn’t make enough so you don’t get them” notice four days later.

Expand full comment

WUUUUTTTTT. Oh your pair DEFINITELY got backdoored.

Expand full comment

I've stopped looking at SNKRS. When I want a new pair of shoes I ask myself 1) what's my budget and 2) what's my favorite pair of shoes I can get from any source within that budget? It's easier to buy a marked up or underappreciated pair from StockX or other marketplace than to deal with ridiculous frustration on SNKRS.

Expand full comment

Honestly since it is a bit like a lottery, they should disclose how many total sneakers are being offered for each drop that way you get a better idea of the odds of success, which I imagine are extremely low and there is more limited stock than people probably imagine there actually is.

Expand full comment