29 Comments
author

As I told Rob in the comments below, if y'all have any questions about the process definitely fire away! Would love to chat about it.

Expand full comment
Sep 1, 2021Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

Hey Mike - are you able to talk about how the process worked, how you found it, how it came together etc? Or did you sign an NDA etc? Cheers and congrats again.

Expand full comment
author

I can definitely talk about it! If you've got any questions fire away.

Expand full comment

Great. Here’s a few:

- Did they explain how they found you / knew about you?

- Assume a film crew came to your (new) place?

- Did you get any shoes / freebies?

- How long from filming to being on the app?

- Has it changed how you feel about the app / company?

Expand full comment
author

So someone I know over there had actually reached out and asked me if I wanted to do it. They read the newsletter and follow along with things that I do, so they were aware of the following, I guess, and thought I was a fit.

There actually wasn't a crew! They sent a kit over to my crib for me to film it. There was a director and an assistant who helped me and my wonderful fiancé through it, but that's all there was to it.

No shoes lol. It also hasn't changed what I think about the app. I've always liked their community content and had an appreciation for the What You Got series so I was thrilled to be on there. As far as selling shoes? The system is still wack. Grateful for that spotlight tho.

Expand full comment

Definitely and thanks for the responses. 🙏.

Expand full comment

My first SNKRS hit was the Acronym Presto Mid Black. I had totally forgotten about the drop, and I was in the middle of a run on a Saturday morning. I saw it was 9:59 and my phone had the notification of the drop up and ready. I clicked through and BANG. Man that adrenaline rush. The next mile was faster than the previous 7 or 8!

But my absolute favorite pair in the past few years is the J1 Tokyo Biohack. Those colorways go with almost everything. They look great, and the suede has held up all year, even withstanding splish-splashing through a freak thunderstorm in NYC. -Phillip

Expand full comment
Sep 1, 2021Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

The ones I wear the most are the air max 1 anniversary obsidian. I've beaten em up and they go with everything. Love that pair.

Coolest retail purchase was the Jordan 1 ASG chameleons. Bought em at the Jordan store in Toronto in the summer of 2017. I'll just assume Canadians are so polite and let those sit for me.

Expand full comment
Sep 1, 2021Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

Weatherman KD IV's - I saved up a sneaker allowance (a perk from my first job out of college) for months to get them off ebay.

Also, loved your feature on SNRKS. It's the only content of theirs I've enjoyed watching or wanted to watch without the incentive of getting a W. Those Salt Stain SB's are legit. Those are from a time when most of the cool ass SB's were just a smidge too big for a lot of us ladies. We missed out on some HEAT.

Expand full comment
Sep 1, 2021Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

I had an obsession with Spizikes back in the day too and hunted forever for the only Women's pair they released. Found them at Plato's Closet for $45 and I wore them to college graduation.

Nowdays, I just wear whatever feels right in my collection which is over 100 easy these days. Could be even more. Maybe dunks, maybe some 1's, maybe some 5s, maybe some air maxes, maybe some nmd's or ozweegos. Whatever the day brings haha

Expand full comment
author

LOL I love the vibe, Kayle. The Spizikes were my favorite J's for a minute until I copped those 8's lmao. They're still a classic tho. People didn't appreciate them enough because it wasn't a signature J.

Expand full comment
Sep 1, 2021Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

If we’re sticking with Nike only:

Air Max Uptempo 95s - one of the first pairs that ignited my love of sneakers.

Nike x Humidity SB Dunk High - one of my first SNKRS Ws and just a dope shoe/story.

Jordan 1 All Star 2017- wore those when my daughter was born. The 1 I wear the most.

Concord 11 - bookend with the Uptempo 95s. Takes me back to those UConn/Georgetown, Ray Allen/Allen Iverson matchups. Those two shoes were just the dopest things I’d ever seen.

Expand full comment
author

Man I was so close to copping that Humidity Dunk from a homie back when it dropped. He was reselling for just above retail and I passed because I didn't think I'd figure out a way to rock it. Totally regret it now.

Expand full comment

To be fair, I haven’t rocked em yet for that reason. But there’s a sneaker ball coming up that might get me to un-DS them. Conditions permitting.

Expand full comment
Sep 2, 2021Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

Sitting at my desk at work not and having the perfect timing to pick up my phone right when they shock dropped the Off white UNC 1. I couldn’t focus on work the rest of that day. I was so excited!

Expand full comment
Sep 1, 2021Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

I’m a fan of 13s, still have my OG ‘98 Breds and ‘05 Flints. Favorite non-Nike is AI’s Question - “Why Not Us?” The symbolism of being the underdog and believing means a lot to me.

Expand full comment
Sep 1, 2021Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

Court Purple 1s were my first hit on SNKRS 🥲. I also got these white grape AM95s that I love so much

Expand full comment
Sep 1, 2021Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

My white OVO 12s. The taxi 12s were the first pair of Js I ever had. A reward for doing well in school/being a good student. I’ve been in love with the silhouette ever since. When the OVO 12s dropped a few years ago, I had to have them. Just a beautiful pair.

Expand full comment
Sep 1, 2021Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

My favorites are definitely the University Blue 4s and the Hawaii dunk highs.

The ones I’ve worn the most are the Shadow 2.0s.

The shadows have the coolest story. Kyle Andrews copped them in my size, I threw them on for the first time and minutes later I got the job offer I was waiting for.

I’ve had them for months now and they’re my most reliable pair, not just for style or durability, but because I know if I need something good to go my way, those will help me.

Expand full comment
Sep 1, 2021Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

Honestly of all the sneakers I have in my closet. My favorites are my Huaraches and my cement 3's. And I own adidas EQT's that are always in rotation as well

Expand full comment
author

This is how it's supposed to be! We should appreciate all of our pairs more often, tbh.

Expand full comment
Sep 2, 2021Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

I proposed in the white diamond dunks, so those will always have a special place in my heart. Recently I can't stop wearing the Aime 550's and the AMM 3's.

Expand full comment
Sep 2, 2021Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

First of all, it was rad seeing you on the app lmao. I never check out any of the content stuff but it was cool watching your stuff.

To answer the question:

- Laser Black Gum 4s: I bought these (under retail!) as a gift to myself for becoming a teacher. I’ve broken them in so much and actually do wear them at school quite a bit. I love the gum sole, it reminds me of my days as a skater lol

- Radio Raheem 2s: honestly I just love 2s a lot. I have three pairs but the Radio Raheems were my first. An acquaintance of mine tried to make me feel bad about liking them and I just like some of the lesser liked models ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

- 2021 carmine 6s: my fiancée got me these after I struck out everywhere for them. She knew I was hype about trying to get a shoe I’ve loved forever. It’s my most sentimental sneaker for sure.

Expand full comment

My favorite pairs:

- Adidas Yeezy Boost 750 chocolate

- Jordan 3 true blue

- Nike Off White Air Max 90 (black)

The Spider-Man Jordan 1s are close to making that list if only for sentimental reasons around their association with the Spider-Verse movie which I've now watched probably 50 times.

I'll throw in an honorable mention for the only pair of reps I'll ever buy - a pair of passable Red Octobers. They look great and didn't cost me thousands of dollars and I at least feel cool as hell when I wear them.

Expand full comment
author

That Spiderman Dunk is a true grail pair for me, man. Classic shoe. Classic movie.

Expand full comment

This is a good question! Think my favourites I have in my collection are either the Toro Bravo 5s or my Paul Rodriguez Mexico Dunks

Expand full comment
author

The P Rods are so god damn good bro. I wish I had them.

Expand full comment

My favorite pairs:

1A: All-Star Bron 7s, I have the OGs and now the retros. Love the way that blue pops.

Beyond that, Origin Story AJ1s (because of Miles and Spiderverse), Yeezy Solar Red Foams (love Nike Yeezy colorways and Foams), Kith King's Crown Bron 15s, Bruce Lee Kobe 5s, Pioneer Harden 1s, Purple Lobster Dunks (biggest score at retail) Atmos Animal Pack AM1s

Expand full comment
author

Holy hell man those All-Star 7's are crazy. That was an epic year for basketball sneakers. We need more of that today lol

Expand full comment