19 Comments
Nov 25, 2020Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

Sending all those positive vibes to all you Americans doing thanksgiving!

Expand full comment
author

Thank you fam!

Expand full comment

Thanksgiving Eve = pie + prep day. Making apple, pumpkin, and cherry pie today (normally I’d do more but it’s just our household this year). Brining the turkey in a cinnamon/orange/allspice/cloves spice mix. And prepping the cornbread dressing. All the sides happen tomorrow: sweet potato casserole, mashed potatoes, green bean casserole, and both canned and fresh cranberry sauce (my family calls me basic for loving canned cranberries, but what can I say it’s delicious).

Expand full comment

Steaks, sausage, lobster tails and chicken drumsticks. It’s just me, my wife and our son so we’re going hard on the grill.

Expand full comment

Canadian Thanksgiving was last month so nothing special happening here. You guys have a safe and peaceful Thanksgiving.

Expand full comment

Happy Thanksgiving to you and all your friends and family! 🦃🎉 Smoking our Turkey. Start the brine soak this afternoon and the 10 hour smoke starts extra early tomorrow morning.

Expand full comment

Masala butter roasted turkey. Yes, it will taste even better than it sounds.

Expand full comment

We (the wife & I) typically go back to our home town for Thanksgiving since were from the same place and our families are both generally there but due to this year we're staying home and just keeping it to our selves and the dog. We got a spiral turkey & ham from Honey Baked Ham, mashed potatoes, corn, green beans, corn bread, sweet potatoes.....and I think that might be it. We got enough of each item for a few people so we're looking to put in about 10k calories per day for a few days here. Diet starts Monday.

Expand full comment

Frying two turkeys tomorrow. Second year in a row of frying. Never doing anything but; them things come out juicier than any baked bird can. Sister coming through with that mac. Only having a few people come over (some members of the extended family tested positive), so we’re gonna have to do a LOT of plate dropoffs with all the extra turkey we’re about to hav.

Expand full comment
author

THAT'S WHAT I'M SAYING. People just gotta get hip to frying these turkeys man. Hoping everyone in the fam recovers well and y'all have a safe dinner, dude!

Expand full comment

Since no olds telling me what I can and can't make, I'm about to inject my turkey right now with a Cajun butter mixture. Throwing it on the smoker tomorrow morning. I'll take smoked turkey over any other method any time. Scallion cheddar cornbread stuffing. Cheesy ass mashed potatoes with fontina and sage. Brussel sprouts with pickled shallots. And for the pièce de résistance, I got a PIECAKEN for dessert bc fuck2020.

Expand full comment

I’m grilling a turkey for my family but Dana wants me to drop one in the fryer. Mikey send me the recipe to marinate it. I already have them sitting in the brine over night. Happy Thanksgiving, peace!

Expand full comment

Lol I just need the Mac and Cheese, Stuffing and Mash and we good!

Expand full comment

For the last 4-5 years, my mother in law has been cooking a ham in addition to the turkey, so I will be tearing into that, along with the mac and cheese and mashed potatoes. Getting pretty excited!!

Expand full comment

I am making a new mac 'n cheese recipe after not liking the one I tried with velveeta last year!

Expand full comment

Living in Spain it's been a whirlwind of Amazon and crazy niche online stores to get all the fixings for the big meal tomorrow (I hate Stovetop but my girls love it and need it with the can of cranberry jelly). So besides being grateful to online stores, I'm grateful to this newsletter for giving me the material to slightly impress my teenage son!

Expand full comment

Chicken - smoked and roasted. Turkey ain’t it.

Expand full comment
author

Chris, buddy, I'm telling you. FRY IT. It's amazing. And I hate turkey.

Expand full comment

Living in Tokyo, getting a turkey is tricky - best way I knew was having a friend who could get on a US Navy/Army base, because they bring American foods in - and then preparing that in what passes for ovens here is even harder. So nothing today, might mess around and spend the day cooking Saturday instead, but considering COVID is rising here I don't think we'll be able to get a last-minute Friendsgiving together. Will have to plan it all out for next year instead!

Expand full comment