35 Comments
Dec 8, 2021Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

Hitting on the Off-white Dunks, lot #10, was a major win. (R.I.P. Virgil) But the most special was easily the Nike ACG Mowabb. My dad bought a pair when I was in middle school and he never had a chance to wear them once. I wore them so much I forgot they were his. Once I saw they were coming back out I knew I had to get a pair and surprise him.

Expand full comment
author

This story is what sneaker culture is all about, man. Salute, Key.

Expand full comment

Appreciate it my guy. Keep up the good work, you got a fan for life in me.

Expand full comment
Dec 8, 2021Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

2021 was a really tough year for me personally so I'll be a little corny say that my family was and continues to be my biggest W

Expand full comment
Dec 9, 2021Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

Nothing wrong with that my man. Sounds like you have your priorities straight 👍

Expand full comment
author

That's not corny at all dude. Not one bit. I love it. Sending y'all love, peace and blessings through the rest of this year and beyond.

Expand full comment
Dec 8, 2021Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

Definitely the Pattas and Sacai Fragment Waffles were major Ws, but for me, it was the OW Dunks, because I was able to trade them in at a local shop for the shoes I always wanted:

The AJ1 Origin Stories!!

Expand full comment
author

Just in time for the next Miles Morales movie too!

Expand full comment

Also got the Sacai Waffles, those look sick with a nice pair of jeans

Expand full comment
Dec 8, 2021Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

The friends I made along the way. And the Pattas.

Expand full comment
author

lmao perfect.

Expand full comment
Dec 8, 2021Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

I managed to get both the Union 4s and the AMM 3s on release (each from their online shops), so those are probably tied for biggest "hype" W. My biggest comfort W was the Hoka x Engineered Garments Bondi - these are easily the most comfortable shoes I own while also looking really dope.

Expand full comment
author

I am dedicating myself to trying out a Hoka joint in 2022. No idea what to get, but i'ma get it.

Expand full comment
Dec 8, 2021Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

Biggest sneaker dub, huh? Ok I gotta give two answers.

1. Scoring exclusive access for the Off-White dunks. But that’s purely from a hype standpoint.

2. The true win was walking into my local Nike store and seeing a pair of Fire red Jordan 5s in my size WAYYYY after release.

Expand full comment
author

I still can't believe you came up on those Fire Reds like that lol

Expand full comment
Dec 8, 2021Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

Definitely the Toro Bravo 5s. Such a great shoe.

Expand full comment
Dec 8, 2021Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

Oh, and how could I forget the undercover dunks

Expand full comment
author

I WAS GONNA ASK lmao. The Toro Bravos are definitely the shit tho

Expand full comment
Dec 8, 2021Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

Biggest sneaker W for me was the Uni Blue 1's and the Parra Dunks. Thought I had no shot for either of those heading into the year.

Expand full comment
author

Those Parra Dunks are so smooth, man. Still wish I hit them but I'm not sure I'd ever have worn them. They're art to me.

Expand full comment
Dec 8, 2021Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

My biggest win is my only win, the PSG AJ1 Zoom restock in June. I've entered every hyped release and gotten Ls on all of em. Sucks.

Expand full comment
author

Fuck the hype joints. You got the PSG 1's! They're sick, man. I saw them IRL for the first time a few months ago and that really put me on to CMFT J's. Gotta get em now.

Expand full comment
Dec 8, 2021Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

First all of the amazing folks in this community 💜 as for kicks the Aleali May 1s ,

Kyrie keep Sue fresh 4s & Kyrie7 /Concepts either didn’t have the $ at the time of drops for Retail like Amm3 or Social Status Dunks or the Pattas or haven’t been able to score a good resell for a few others that were higher profile drops but then again I always wear what I like and what matches my looks :)

Expand full comment
author

Storm you are the absolute best of us! Your style is incredibly unique. The hype don't matter. How you rock what you got does!

Expand full comment
Dec 8, 2021Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

The only hype shoes I hit on this year were ones I didn’t want (Travis 6s, LeBron South Beach), so I sold them to help pay for more GR stuff I did like…

My biggest win was, weirdly, the Navy Blue Space Hippie 01s. I wanted those shoes so bad, but I missed at retail and didn’t wanna pay resale. I found them on sale at Foot Patrol in England, and after shipping it was exactly what I would have paid retail.

The W is only slightly lessened by the fact that Finish Line restocked a couple months later and now has them on sale. 🤦🏻‍♂️

Expand full comment
author

LOL hate it when that happens. You got them either way, though!

Expand full comment
Dec 8, 2021Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

Off White Dunks Lot 2 of 50. My first Off White shoe and especially significant given the recent news. RIP Virgil!

Expand full comment
author

Glad you came up on those joints yo!

Expand full comment
Dec 9, 2021Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

Walked into Foot Locker on a random day and happened to find the UNC 1 Lows a week before the online release. Paying retail on a surprise find >>>

Expand full comment
Dec 9, 2021Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

Personal biggest W is the JFG 990v3 "Outside Clothes"! I was outside nonstop as a kid from when school got out til the sun went down and I always had to change and wash up right when I came in so this story was very nostalgic for me.

Honorable mention to the AMM 3's & 1's for the fantastic story those carried as well.

Expand full comment
author

YO that's an insane year, fam. I'm still sick I ain't get the JFG's.

Expand full comment
Dec 9, 2021Liked by Mike D. Sykes, II

I was pleased to hit OW Dunks and got early access to the TS Jordan 1 Lows which I love. Ultimately though, given I’m in the UK - it was great to hit the AMM 3s

Expand full comment
author

Wow, over the Travis Lows? That's a take I can appreciate!

Expand full comment

Hitting on the AMM 3's and some ALD 550's, but my biggest W has been being more selective on the things I go for. I've been swiping away the SNKRS app notifications and not entering every draw. I bought a lot of New Balances this year lol

Expand full comment
author

Wow I feel like we may have lived the same 2021 here lmao

Expand full comment