23 Comments

I'm older so my perspective is different but at this point there are fewer releases that I want to chase and if I don't get them, so be it. I buy my sneakers for me and for my style. Your style is about your own confidence anyway.

Nike could fix this if they wanted. The exclusivity & hype around the drops is more valuable to them than making sure people can get their hands on the sneakers. The #1 way to fix this is to stop making resale a thing. Since we can't actually collectively do that as humans, someone needs to make a Robin Hood sneaker app that beats those resale bots at their own game and then resells at face value.

Expand full comment

Maybe this is naive because I'm fairly new to this, but it feels like opting out and sticking to GOAT/StockX doesn't solve the problem because the resale market is what drives the existence of bots in the first place. To make opting out of SNKRS effective, folks would have to opt out of the entire Nike economy, and I don't think there are as many people willing to do that. It'd certainly cost Nike some data points, but that feels negligible compared to the sales. Not sure what the way out is, but I don't think the resale market will save us.

Expand full comment

I’ve pretty much stopped using it now too. Nike has no interest in ‘fixing it’ because for them it’s working exactly as intended. Two examples:

1.) The recent Lebron ‘vote’. Nike had already likely chosen which shoe would release and now has a ton of free data on which shoes to release in the coming months and years. Most brands would at least give you a discount or a voucher for that kind of focus group work. Not Nike.

2.) This GQ article on the ‘surprise’ of people picking up Jordan 1 mids. This is exactly how the app is supposed to function - 99% of people take the L and Nike then hopes they buy into a model lower down the order that is more widely available. It seems this is definitely happening now with Jordans.

Also of interest is Russ Bengston’s thread on how mids are actually more representative of what MJ actually wore on court back in the day!!!

https://www.gq.com/story/air-jordan-1-mid-success

Expand full comment

Who are these people that are buying the more widely available shoe/colorway wen they take an L? I just don't know those buyers (and I'm not one) so I just don't understand how that works. It's hard to wrap my mind around that haha. I'll just not buy any shoes. Back to bed I go haha.

Expand full comment

Ha. I’m with you 100% man but they do exist and they’re buying mids it seems.

Expand full comment

Yeah, I don't know anyone personally who's buying mids but if you follow snkr_twitr or accounts like that you can see that they generally sell out pretty quick

Expand full comment

High school kids who don't know any better or just don't care what olds have to say. Also, their parents who pick up what they think is what their kid is asking for. They'd rather buy a mid direct from Nike than a High from StockX or GOAT.

Expand full comment

I came close to quitting before the Panini hit back in March but I’ve been able to score more than a few times on SNKRS app since then, most recently the Notre dunks. So I’m back at it lol but before it was Ls every drop that I wanted. I know part of the allure is having access to limited # of sneakers. However, if they try to do something like Terlfar did (have a preorder to make sure everyone who wanted one got one) then I’d be down for that. Resellers and hypebeasts will be outraged but fuck it.

Expand full comment

What if they went to a raffle system? Some of the ones I've done even require credit card info upfront and you're automatically charged if you win. I feel way more confident in my odds of getting a pair of shoes that way than beating out bots on a buggy app during high-traffic times.

Expand full comment
author

I think that's certainly the way to go, but it still doesn't really solve the problem of artificially short supply. They really just don't make nearly enough shoes to go around for people.

Like, why not drop 40k pairs instead of just 10-15k? What's the harm in that? More W's to go out, more satisfied customers and still a sold out sneaker.

Expand full comment

I completely agree with that too. Maybe someone that understands marketing/economics and the psychology around it could explain the point. If you released more shoes would it make it demand diminish over time for initial launches in the future? The limited release doesn't have a direct monetary benefit for Nike - just resellers. Is there that much $$$ to be gained by Nike in the buzz around a shoe that essentially no one gets?

Expand full comment

As I mentioned in last week's thread, we're still suffering from manufacturing issues from Covid (see also: release dates constantly shuffling). That said, if the demand is there, increase the numbers! There's something to be said for the hype being spread out over several releases like the Sacai's for example. So, certain colorways are more sought after; whereas, some folks will be happy they just got to cop a pair and participate.

Expand full comment

But they could do pre-order or backorder to solve that problem too. I'd wait a couple months to get a shoe I REALLLY wanted if it meant it was legit and not 3x retail.

Expand full comment

I would LOVE a preorder!

Expand full comment

I find a little bit of the handwringing on socials over SNKRS to be a little overblown. could Nike make it smoother and maybe more transparent? definitely. should they make more stock available? yeah I guess (but then would you want the shoes?). and I completely agree with Sykes's point that Nike should be tweaking the algorithm to reward people who have stuck around. I personally went FOUR FULL YEARS between hitting on Royals and nabbing a pair of Space Hippies with no Ws in between.

but really, no one NEEDS any of these shoes. it's all a game to get you caught up in the hype cycle thinking you need them. if you hit, you're psyched, and you're probably gonna come back the next week to try your luck again. but no one should be going into any drop at this point thinking they're going to win - if you do, that's on you. it's definitely a problem that seemingly 99% of the time you're not gonna get the shoes, but it's also not the only way to get a pair - make friends with your local skate shop for the new SB drops, enter some raffles.

Expand full comment

As frustrating as SNKRS can be, to me it's all about your outlook. If you treat it like a lottery (which it basically is), you won't get too disappointed taking those L's. And hey, if you get one W, then you get that W. My biggest issue with the SNKRS app is that stuff that isn't even that hot gets sold out at this point. Pre-pandemic and pre-Last Dance a lot of the stuff that is selling out would just sit and eventually make their way to the Outlets. Now everything sells out. It's crazy to me. I doubt that I'd even quit on SNKRS entirely, but I refuse to allow the hype to drive my purchases. I'll always love shoes, but if it gets frustrating enough i'll just cop classics that aren't so scarce like air force 1s and nb 990s. You fix it by following the Telfar model for some releases and keep certain releases like the chunky dunky or the travis scotts the way they are. I expect to get an L on the grateful dead dunks, but not the biohack 1s or some non-og colorway of Jordan lows. And let people all get Ws every now and then. Like make a Kobe V protro available for everyone.

Expand full comment

The Kobe's definitely should have been way more available.

Expand full comment

It's heartbreaking to hear about folks who haven't hit on SNKRS in YEARS. Clearly, something isn't working. I have only hit on non-hyped releases, shock drops if I'm quick, and the occasional raffle. Every normal release tends to freeze up on me.

Has anyone had success with the engagement tricks? You watch every video. You like every release. You select Notify Me. Supossedly (SUPPOSEDLY), this affects the algorithm. I have noticed that when I'm more engaged that I have a better chance at releases, but that was before this most recent craze. Now I can't even hit on like AM95 Neon's. And us Android folks don't even get access to the Lebron Vote and other interactive features!

I like when assets accumulate in value. My Zoo York's for example are worth the price they go for now because back then most people didn't even know what they had. Kids actually skated in them. There are few pairs that exist in decent condition in any size. But, when a release with 10x the number of pairs that's just released is going for the same cost, the market is messed up.

Expand full comment

I've certainly cut back on using SNKRS, although I don't think I'll ever stop using it completely unless another app to cop sneakers for retail enters the market. I hit on way more SNKRS drops a couple years ago when you had to keep refreshing and re-entering information for like 30 minutes before getting through. Since they've introduced the queue/"you're in line" feature, I almost never hit -- 2 times all of last year. I've learned to expect the L at this point, so I'm never really disappointed now.

I doubt I'll ever leave the shoe game, instead I've shifted my strategy to having a short list of kicks that I really want, and I kind of troll around the secondary market until they come up for resell at prices that aren't insane. It's not the best or the cheapest method, but it at least keeps the thrill of getting new sneakers alive and allows me to dig past the hype machine for pairs I genuinely want.

I think the simplest way to fix things would just be to make more sneakers, but Nike knows how their hype machine works and how the limited releases drive interest in regular models.

Expand full comment

I've literally never gotten anything from SNKRS, and I've tried a lot. As I no longer reside in a major metropolitan area, at this point SNKRS just tells me what's coming from Nike, and if I want something I just go to GOAT or StockX.

Expand full comment

I wouldn't quit using the Snkrs app because it isn't my only way of trying to obtain sneakers. I've come to expect to be disappointed, with that being said it only takes me a few seconds to enter my info for a more than likely L. I don't know how they can fix this but it is long overdue.

Expand full comment
author

I feel like the fact that it's not the only way of trying to obtain sneakers is what would actually drive me to stop using the app.

Honestly, I've mostly stopped. I only use it to see what's coming up officially. I may drop in for the occasional Dunk grab, but that's it.

Expand full comment

I had to change my mentality when trying on SNKRS, basically go in knowing I’m not going to get anything and being a nice surprise when I hit every 3 or 4 months. The only time it’s really bugged me was with the glitches the past couple drops. I get if you ain’t gonna let me buy the shoes, but I should atleast be able to try without too much issue. I also try on most hyped shoes just incase I get lucky and can trade for something I actually want. It’s lame that’s how it works now but if Nike ain’t gonna make more shoes that’s just how I’m going to operate

Expand full comment